2008 Political Economy of International Finance Conference
May 2, 2008
at Scripps College, Claremont, CA

Conference Committee    |    Sponsors    |    Contact Information    |    Scheduled Participants


Continental Breakfast: 8:30-9:00 a.m.

Session 1: 9:00-10:15 a.m.
Steve Quinn (TCU): Securitization of Sovereign Debt: Corporations as a Sovereign Debt Restructuring Mechanism

Session 2: 10:30-11:45 a.m.
Randall Stone (Rochester): Scope of IMF Conditionality

Lunch: 11:45 a.m.-1:15 p.m.
Keynote Address: Barry Eichengreen, UC Berkeley

Session 3: 1:15-2:30 p.m.
Henrik Enderlein (Hertie School), Laura Muller (Hertie School), and Christoph Trebesch (Hertie School): Sovereign Debt Disputes

Session 4: 2:45-4:00 p.m.
Jamus Lim (World Bank): Political Economic Pressures in Financial Crisis Resolution

Session 5: 4:15-5:30 p.m.
Mark L.J. Wright (UCLA) and Rohan Pitchford (Sydney): Restructuring the Sovereign Debt Restructuring Mechanism

All sessions will be held in Balch Auditorium on the campus of Scripps College. Breakfast and lunch will be served at the Mallot Commons at Scripps College. A dinner and reception will follow the last session. The dinner will be held at the house of Greg Hess, Dean of the Faculty at Claremont McKenna College.

Conference Committee
J. Lawrence Broz, UCSD
Jeffry Frieden, Harvard University
Mark Hallerberg, Emory University
Slavi Slavov, Pomona College
Marc D. Weidenmier, Claremont McKenna College
Thomas Willett, Claremont McKenna College and Claremont Graduate University
Jeronimo Zettelmeyer, International Monetary Fund

Claremont Graduate University
Claremont McKenna College
European Union Center at Scripps College
Financial Economics Institute, Claremont McKenna College
Lowe Institute of Political Economy, Claremont McKenna College
Pomona College

Contact Information
Marc D. Weidenmier, Associate Professor of Economics, Claremont McKenna College,
500 East Ninth Street, Claremont, CA 91711.
Phone: (909)607-8497
Email: mweidenmier@cmc.edu

Scheduled Participants
Dave Andrews, Scripps
David Bearce, Pittsburgh
Graham Bird, CMC
Lawrence Broz, UCSD
Richard Burdekin, CMC
Daniela Campello, UCLA
Bill Clark, Michigan
Mark Copelovitch, Wisconsin
Barry Eichengreen, UC Berkeley
Henrik Enderlein, Hertie School
John Freeman, Minnesota
Jeff Frieden, Harvard
Greg Hess, CMC
Glenn Hueckel, Pomona
Michael Hutchison, UCSC
Michael Klein, Tufts Fletcher School
Kenneth Kletzer, UCSC
Mike Kuehlwein, Pomona
David LeBlang, Colorado
Jamus Lim, World Bank
Jose Lopez, UC Irvine
Steve Marks, Pomona
Chris Meissner, UC Davis
Kris Mitchener, Santa Clara/UCLA
Laura Muller, Hertie School
Ilan Noy, Hawaii
Erica Owen, Minnesota
Hans Palmer, Pomona
Steve Quinn, TCU
David Singer, MIT
Slavi Slavov, Pomona
Randall Stone, Rochester
Mike Tomz, Stanford
Christoph Trebesch, Hertie School
Kirsten Wandschneider, Occidental College
Marc Weidenmier, CMC
Tom Willett, CMC/CGU
Mark Wright, UCLA
Jeronomin Zettelmeyer, IMF