60th Annual Commencement Set for Saturday, May 12

The 60th annual Commencement ceremonies will be held at 2 p.m. on Saturday, May 12 on Pritzlaff Field, featuring keynote remarks from Los Angeles Mayor Antonio R. Villaraigosa. The event is open to the public.

Joining Villaraigosa and President Pamela Gann at the podium this year will be senior class president Alex Piazza, who will present the Graduating Class; Gregory Hess, vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculty; and Harry T. McMahon ’75 P’08 ’09, Board of Trustees chair.

Robert Valenza, the Dengler-Dykema Chair of Mathematics and the Humanities, and recipient of this year’s Glenn R. Huntoon Award for Superior Teaching, will serve as faculty marshal. Father Joseph Fenton, chaplain of The Claremont Colleges, will lead the invocation, and Zachry Fragapane ’07 will read the Latin Salutation, Per ocvlos lovis!

Commencement seating is on a first-come basis. Seats may not be reserved, but may be held if a family member remains in the tent. CMC provides wheelchair access for individuals who need that accommodation.

For assistance, or for more information, please contact the Dean of the Faculty’s office, 909-621-8117.

More about Commencement speak Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa: http://www.claremontmckenna.edu/news/pressreleases/article.asp?article_id=838.