Dean of Faculty Gregory Hess Installed as James G. Boswell Professor of Economics

CMC’s Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty Gregory Hess was recently installed as the James G. Boswell Professor of Economics and George R. Roberts Fellow. At an evening event at the Marian Miner Cook Athenaeum, S. Brock Blomberg P’13, dean of the Robert Day School and the Peter Barker ’70 Professor of Economics and George R. Roberts Fellow, presented Hess with his medallion. Hess then spoke on “The Federal Reserve’s Dueling Mandate.”

An expert in monetary policy and public finance, Hess is often featured on various media outlets including Bloomberg Radio, the Los Angeles Times, and CNBC. He is a member of the Shadow Open Market Committee and a former member of the United Kingdom’s Shadow Open Market Committee. From 1989 to 1993, Hess worked as an economist at the Federal Reserve Board in Washington, D.C. He also has been a visiting scholar at Federal Reserve Banks of Cleveland, Kansas City and St. Louis, the Bank of Japan, and the International Monetary Fund. Hess received his B.A. from the University of California, Davis, and his M.A. and Ph.D. from The Johns Hopkins University.

Hess has published in the Journal of Political Economy, the American Economic Review, the Journal of Monetary Economics, the Journal of International Economics, and the Journal of Public Economics, among other journals. He also is associate editor of Economics and Politics and book review editor for Macroeconomics Dynamics.

“Though I did not know Mr. Boswell, I believe that he showed wisdom in recognizing how much can be accomplished by investing in faculty through endowed professorships,” said Hess in his talk. “I am very grateful to the late Mr. Boswell, to Mrs. Barbara Boswell, and to the Boswell Foundation for all that they have done and continue to do for this institution that we love so much.”

The James G. Boswell chair in economics was established through a gift to Claremont McKenna College by the James G. Boswell Foundation. The Boswell Foundation previously endowed another professorship, the Boswell Professor of Economics, currently held by Professor Heather Antecol. President Gann recognized Mrs. Barbara Boswell and James Henry, executive director of the foundation, for their generosity, and presented them with a plaque of appreciation.